One Week Later

21 09 2012

Today marks one week since the birth of our third son, Levi James. There is so much I could write, but due to circumstances I am quite limited.

One week…wow. Just like the other difficult circumstances we’ve been through, I take a deep breath and look back and think, ‘We made it. God, we made it.’

Some of you may be thinking, “Huh, they think that’s difficult?” Yep. We do. First time newborns are hard. They demand a LOT. Feedings every 1 – 3 hours. Constant diaper changes. Constant touch and constant comfort. 

Kimberly has always had her routines and I’m usually very scheduled. But this past week we have been nothing but constant appointments on Levi’s schedule. We don’t get to reschedule with him or negotiate the times of his appointments. He pencils us in and we show up. Please know that I’m not complaining. This is a blog and I’m just processing this past week. 

I made plans to take two weeks off of work to be with her and my family. Kimberly’s parents agreed to take Ralph and William to school and pick them up this first week. I am really thankful for all of these. Kimberly would have never made it through this week without these components.

Before Levi came Kimberly and I both agreed we wanted her to breast feed. After she gave birth, Kimberly had some third degree tears. She has had some severe pain this past week which had limited her to be able care for Levi. Also, there was about two day stint where Levi would not latch and we started supplementing with formula so he would be fed. By Tuesday, the day of Levi’s first doctor’s visit, Kimberly was feeling discouraged because of her limitations and we were at our wit’s end on breast feeding. 

Since Tuesday, God has abounded in grace and love to us. He has worked through me to provide grace and encouragement to my wife. He has worked through a doctor to provide the needed ‘trick’ to get Levi to latch. Today, Levi is breast feeding unassisted and Kimberly is continuing to heal and feeling more confident in her role.

Ralph and William love their little brother. For those of you who know our story with the boys and their history, you know what I mean when I say watching them care for Levi as a brother has been a powerful picture of redemption. 

God has been constantly breaking me and showing me just how gloriously sovereign He is over our suffering and the brokenness of our fallen world. I look back over these 4 years and weep with joy. I look at my wife and weep with joy because God has remembered her. I look at my sons and weep with joy knowing that with God nothing is impossible. Truly, if Levi would have been our first son, I don’t know if we would have three sons. In His wisdom, I am thankful God chose him to be our third. 

“I love the LORD, because he has heard
my voice and my pleas for mercy.
Because he inclined his ear to me,
therefore I will call on him as long as I live.
The snares of death encompassed me;
the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me;
I suffered distress and anguish.
Then I called on the name of the LORD:
“O LORD, I pray, deliver my soul!”

Gracious is the LORD, and righteous;
our God is merciful.
The LORD preserves the simple;
when I was brought low, he saved me.
Return, O my soul, to your rest;
for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

For you have delivered my soul from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling;
I will walk before the LORD
in the land of the living.

What shall I render to the LORD
for all his benefits to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the LORD,
I will pay my vows to the LORD
in the presence of all his people.

Psalm 116:1-9, 12-14

We have many hard days ahead. But, God is with us and for us. He is our joy and our portion forever. 

 

 

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 09 2012
Heathershodgepodge

Aw, how sweet! Again, I am so, so, happy for you guys! And truly – if you need an.y.thing at all, I’m just a phone call away.

21 09 2012
James D

your joy brings tears of joy to my eyes jason and kimberly. amazing to see the Lord’s grace and provision in your lives.

Leave a comment