The Search For God And Guinness by Stephen Mansfield

10 07 2010

Last winter when I bought this book I stated:  “I hope to right a review of this book that is shaping up to be a breath of fresh air for my church culture and an example of how ‘wealth is gained through faith inspired excellence and then used to serve others for the glory of God.'” This book measured up to my expectations by showing God’s faithfulness to the Guinness family.  Beginning with Arthur Guinness, the book shows how God used this family to transform a nation with excellent beer, corporate generosity, multi-generational faithfulness, biblical preaching, and service.

This book held my attention from cover to cover.  Chapter 1 alone is worth the price of this book.  In Chapter 1 Mansfield gives us a brief history of beer; how it is made, how it came to be an important part of culture in many civilizations, and how it was viewed and enjoyed by many prominent figures in church history.

The rest of the book was a beautiful story of how God used Arthur and his descendants in the realm of medicine, government, business, and religion to bring transformation to a nation at the individual and systemic level.  I was challenged by this book as a Christian because it showed me tangible ways Guinness poured out their company in service to their neighbor and used the tools and talents given to them to lift a nation out of poverty, drunkenness and disease.  Their is more to be gleaned from this book, but it is sufficient to say that I highly recommend it as a demonstration of how the gospel calls us as Christians to be agents of transformation here and now.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 07 2010
chad

I just finished this book last weekend. I agree. The first couple of chapters were an amazing story. However, when Guinness IPOed, I’d been well educated and the author lost his story telling ability. I finished it anyway.

Mansfield did an excellent job distinguishing between historical fact and his personal hypothesis about what might have happened. Much appreciated.

Overall, I recommend the book no matter your opinion on the use of alcohol. All opinions are covered.

10 07 2010
1j1k

“Mansfield did an excellent job distinguishing between historical fact and his personal hypothesis about what might have happened. Much appreciated.” I agree.

12 07 2010
News & Current Affairs

[…] The Search For God And Guinness by Stephen Mansfield « The … […]

Leave a Reply

